someone else

The windows were down
and I laughed with my hair in my mouth,
my hand spread out into the night.
And the beach was so cold
with cigarette smoke in my face
and the smell on my fingers,
my feet spinning around on the sand.
I closed my eyes into the dark,
your voices drifting through me
and I’ve never been so happy,
never felt so beautiful.
How did I ever hate this life?
How, when we were on the beach
in the dead of night,
our footprints waiting for the tide?
How, when I can put my arm out the window,
laughing,
forgetting,
becoming someone else?

Leave a Reply

