Come Home

My insides are a pit of nostalgia.

I read some old messages

That you sent when you loved me.

The photos on my walls

Remind me of when we spoke

And when you used to call.

The pit in me deepens

Until I’m an ocean,

Wondering why you left

Like we meant nothing at all.

My jaw hurts from the words

And silent sobs I can’t explain,

So I write it down, hoping

That this time you’ll read it.

Because how can I tell my diary

That you won’t be around anymore?

Tonight I’m a black hole,

Trapping memories and words.

Hiding the thoughts I want to forget.

Erasing old messages,

Tearing up old photos.

But telling my diary that you’ll

Come home.

Leave a Reply

