The Wall

There’s a faint dint in the wall

And my knuckles are swollen.

I guess I got too mad this time,

You always make me feel like this.

And every day you stare at that wall

Like you know there’s something there.

But you never see the pain,

You never see the problem;

The beginnings of it falling down.

So next time I get this angry,

And every single time after that,

I’ll hit that same solid wall

Until it falls heavily down

And crushes us all to death.

___________________________

There’s a gaping hole in the wall

And my knuckles are battered and bruised,

I guess this time I’d had enough

Because you keep making me feel this way.

And every day you stare at that damn wall

Like you know there’s something there.

But you never see the pain

And you never see the problem –

The cracks and the forming wreckage.

So next time I get pissed off

And every single time after that,

I’ll hit that same goddamned wall

Until it falls menacingly down

And crushes us all to death.

One thought on “The Wall

Leave a Reply

